LC02270

2012 -- H 8027

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2012

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE 34 FRESHMEN AT NORTH SMITHFIELD HIGH SCHOOL WHO WON THE RHODE ISLAND "WE THE PEOPLE" COMPETITION

Introduced By: Representatives Newberry, Ferri, Valencia, Williams, and McCauley

Date Introduced: March 29, 2012

Referred To: House read and passed

WHEREAS, North Smithfield High School freshmen have taken the first-place slot in the
 state's "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution" competition for a 6th year in a row; and
 WHEREAS, "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution Competition" is
 sponsored by the Center for Civic Education, and is a yearly competition held in Washington,
 D.C., for American high school students. Teams are divided into six units, each comprised of
 three or more members, and each team focuses on a particular area of constitutional interest; and

WHEREAS, On February 11, 2012, at West Warwick High School a group of 34 freshmen from North Smithfield High School under the guidance of honors American Government teacher Mrs. Natalie O'Brien competed against students from area high schools to win the "We the People" competition. Since September, the freshmen class had labored for countless hours to study the Constitution, its founding principles, and its historical and modern applications; and

WHEREAS, The competition requires that students deliver a prepared statement on a specific constitutional topic and answer a series of questions asked by a panel of judges. The students prepare for a wide variety of potential follow-up questions, are not allowed to use any materials, and are not aware of the questions they will be asked until they are posed. The students are required to develop the important skills of critical thinking and performing under pressure; and

19

WHEREAS, As a result of their victory on February 11th, this class will travel to

Washington, D.C., from April 27th through May 1st to represent Rhode Island in the National
 Finals; now, therefore be it

3 RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island and 4 Providence Plantations hereby extends our congratulations to honor American Government 5 teacher, Mrs. Natalie O'Brien and the following 34 freshmen students of North Smithfield High 6 School: Brianna Andreoni, Tracy Ayotte, Austin Berard, Cassandra Cavallaro, Carter Cianci, 7 Jacob DeCelles, Lana Delasanta, Alyssa Felos, Gelsomina Gambardella, Melissa Juhr, Derek 8 Kruzan, Jenna LaChapelle, Gabrielle Lafond, Brian Lamoureux, Sarah Lamoureux, Jack Lanoie, 9 Megan Lefebvre, Amanda Levenson, Ryan L'Heureux, Marissa Marsella, Andrew Matulaitis, 10 Kathleen McMullin, Diane Newberry, Kaley O'Connor, Melayna Prudhomme, Ryan Racine, 11 Emily Richards, Brian Rowe, Kevin Taratuta, Cassaundra Trudel, Morgan Walsh, Gabriella 12 Wholey, Christian Witcher, and Kylie Wortz, for winning the Rhode Island "We the People" 13 Competition, and we wish this hard-working class the best of luck in the National Competition; 14 and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and he hereby is authorized and directed to
transmit duly certified copies of this resolution to honors American Government teacher Mrs.
Natalie O'Brien and the 34 freshmen of North Smithfield High School who will represent Rhode
Island in the National "We the People" Competition.

LC02270