LC02633

2012 -- H 8158

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2012

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE MEMBERS OF THE NORTH SMITHFIELD CONCERT BAND AND CHORUS FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCES AT THE NORTH AMERICAN MUSIC FESTIVAL IN HERSHEY, PENNSYLVANIA

Introduced By: Representatives Newberry, Menard, and Ferri

Date Introduced: May 15, 2012

Referred To: House read and passed

WHEREAS, The dedicated students in the North Smithfield High School Concert Band
 and Chorus contribute their time, energy, and talents to support and further their school's rich
 musical tradition; and

WHEREAS, On Thursday, May 3, 2012, these young members of North Smithfield High School traveled to Hershey, Pennsylvania, to compete in the North American Music Festival's national competition, the "Music in the Parks Festival." This national venue presented an opportunity to compete against the most gifted array of musicians in the United States, and represented a chance for the North Smithfield students to display their passion for performance and their love of music; and

WHEREAS, The members of the band, chorus, and jazz ensemble stepped up on Saturday, May 4, to compete against twenty-eight other high school music groups in a state-ofthe-art auditorium that showed off their style, abilities, and teamwork; and

WHEREAS, The ride back from Hershey to North Smithfield was sweet for many reasons. Both the high school concert choir and the concert band, under the direction of Mrs. Regina McAdams and Mr. Fritz Benz, received Superior Performance ratings. While the students as a group gave a tremendous performance, some students also earned individual recognition for Outstanding Jazz Soloist and Outstanding Choral Accompanist on marimba; and

WHEREAS, These young people deserve our recognition and sincere appreciation for
representing Rhode Island in the best possible light; now, therefore be it

1 RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island and 2 Providence Plantations hereby congratulates Tiana Ahmed, Brianna Andreoni, Samantha 3 Archambault, Brandon Azargoon, Kevin Barry, Kantima Bateman, Robert Beaven, Morgan 4 Berard, Erin Blanchette, Abigail Boisvert, Tyler Boiteau, Michael Bonas, Matt Bonas, Brittany 5 Bouchie, Thomas Bourgeois, Harrison Braley, Dale M. Caouette, Sarah Caouette, Alyssa Capracotta, Ashley Carlton, Karissa Carlton, Aaron Catarina, Cassandra Cavallaro, Richard 6 7 Cenedella, Andrew Charpentier, Brendan Chartier, Kristina Cheamitru, Carter Cianci, Ryan 8 Clark, Katie Colvin, Taylor Conley, Bethany Contildes, Victoria Cordeiro, Kady Corriveau, 9 Hannah DeCelles, Lana Delasanta, Melissa Denham, Pam Denomme, Allison DePari, Alyssa 10 Deslauriers, Matthew Desmarais, Adam DeStefano, Anucha DiPalma, Andrew Drapeau, Devan 11 Dube, Elysia Ducharme, Victoria Ducharme, Nicole Dumais, Emily Dupuis, Justin Economos, 12 Matt Ethier, Sidra Ethier, Leilani Feliciano, Adrienne Fernandes, Kristen Fontaine, Myles 13 Fontaine, Chris Forbes, Maxx Forti, Gelsomina Gambardella, Stefanie Gomes, Michael Gorman-14 Smith, Alexandra Gould, Bradley Gould, Ryan Gould, Bridget Hall, Erin Hall, Grace Hanoian, 15 Calvin Hardman, Maxwell Hardman, Rachel Hardy, Sean Hooper, Jennifer Houde, Alec Hubert, 16 Sean Jacobson, Brittany Janelle, Erica Johnson, Trevor Johnston, Jaclyn Kaehler, Seth Keeley, 17 Mark Keenan, Taydon Kennett, Siobhan Kiernan, Megan Kurczy, Ryan L'Heureux, Jamie 18 LaFazia, Alex Laferrier, Kelsey Lafferty, Natalie Lafond, Brian LaFontaine, Brian Lamoureux, 19 Madeline Lamoureux, Sarah Lamoureux, Max LaPlante, Marsha Laprade, Bridget Latour, Sarah 20 Leclerc, Megan Lefebvre, Dylan Leonard, Amanda Levenson, Joseph Louro, Ashley Lowther, 21 Mitchell Maccarone, Hanna MacDonald, Miranda MacDonald, Christopher Mancini, Megan 22 Mandeville, Matthew Marcantonio, Nathan Marcelino, Nicholas Marchand, Ben Marcotte, 23 Elizabeth Marcotte, Ryan Masnyk, Jacob Masse, Andrew Matulitis, Reagan McGee, Denis 24 McGovern, Kyle Mercier, Jacob Metivier, Sara Miller, Alec Molinaro, John Morel, Kasey Mowry, Tom Mowry, Matthew Mrva, Dylan Narodowy, Laura Narodowy, Sean Nasuti, Diane 25 Newberry, Kortni O'Donnell, Tristin O'Hara, Aidan O'Malley, MacKenzie O'Rourke, Rebecca 26 27 Parenteau, Ian Pascoe, Angela Pasquarillo, Nicole Paul, Dana Paux, Tara Paux, Avery Pierce, 28 Derek Pierce, Erik Pelletier, Natalie Perrault, Casey Peterson, Jocelyn Pfefferie, Nick Phaneuf, 29 Melayna Prudhomme, Jaret Quinn, Haley Raymond, Brian Rowe, Paige Roy, Nick Schmidt, 30 Brittany Senecal, Brooks Shatraw, Tomkin Silvia, Matthew Simard, Sean Simmons, Amanda 31 Simoes, Greg Soito, Kassondra Sokol, Adam Souza, Keila Strick, Walker Strick, Sara Sutherland, 32 Jacob Thompson, Ross Topik, Jessica Tremblay, Ann-Marie Votta, Brittany Walsh, Morgan 33 Walsh, Brittany Webber, Katherine West, Alex Wholey, Amanda Willard, Cassandra Wortz, and 34 Maddison Zuba, as well as the directors of the North Smithfield High School Concert Band and

Chorus, Mr. Fritz Benz and Mrs. Regina McAdams, for a magnificent performance at the North
 American Music Festival in Hershey, Pennsylvania. We thank all these young musicians for their
 exemplary efforts, and recognize that their success reflects their individual talents as well as
 North Smithfield's outstanding support for the performing arts. We wish all students and directors
 the very best in their future endeavors; and be it further
 RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and he hereby is authorized and directed to

- 7 transmit duly certified copies of this resolution to the North Smithfield High School Principal,
- 8 Robert Mezzanotte, Concert Band Director, Mr. Fritz Benz, and Concert Chorus Director, Mrs.
- 9 Regina McAdams.

LC02633