2012 -- H 8243

LC02769

19

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2012

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE CUMBERLAND HIGH SCHOOL GIRLS' LACROSSE TEAM ON WINNING THE 2012 RHODE ISLAND DIVISION II CHAMPIONSHIP

Introduced By: Representatives Menard, McLaughlin, and MacBeth

Date Introduced: June 05, 2012

Referred To: House read and passed

1 WHEREAS, The Cumberland High School Girls' Lacrosse Team capped off its 2012 2 undefeated season record in their division with a stunning victory, earning them the Rhode Island 3 Division II Championship; and 4 WHEREAS, The Lady Clippers defeated Tiverton, the 2011 champions, with a 12 to 10 score, taking home the Championship title for the second time in the school's history; and 5 6 WHEREAS, With Chloe Andrews scoring three goals in the second half of the 7 championship game and earning the game's Most Outstanding Player title by scoring a game total 8 of 4 goals and assisting on 3 more, the Clippers turned a 7-5 halftime deficit into an 11-5 lead in a 9 thrilling back-and-forth contest; and 10 WHEREAS, In a team effort, Allie Sheehan also added 2 goals and an assist, Lindsay 11 Sheehan added a goal and an assist, Maddie Andrews added a goal and an assist, and Sophie 12 Kisseberth also scored a goal to clinch the win; and 13 WHEREAS, Winning a State Championship requires that every player be devoted 14 completely to the team and be willing to sacrifice whatever it takes to succeed. Cumberland 15 certainly had an abundance of those kinds of athletes on its team, including Team Captains Alyssa Chito, Sophie E. Kissaberth, Alexandra F. Sheehan, and Kelsey A. Carpenter, and team 16 members Sydney P. Beadles, Savannah M. Beale, Kaitlyn M. Carr, Jillian R. Chopy, Sonja J. 17 18 Czekalski, Kiara R. DaCruz, Julie A. Fougere, Madison V. Gagnon, Mikaela Grady, Katherine R.

Hill, Lauren M. Jones, Cassidy T. Nunes, Megan V. Palacio, Nicole E. Rochefort, Valerie M.

- 1 Rose, Chloe J. St. Germain, Kerrin C. Williams, Arianna E. Coutu, Madison K. Spoerer, Kerry
- 2 M. Connolly, Lindsay E. Sheehan, Kayli J. Travassos, Madeline Andrews, Emily K. Murphy,
- 3 Chloe Andrews, Sara A. Hanuschak, Caitlin J. Cotter, Emma A. Marsland, Julia M. Eaton, and
- 4 Kara J. Gorman; now, therefore be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island and
- 6 Providence Plantations hereby congratulates the Cumberland Girls' Lacrosse Team, Head Coach
- 7 Mr. Scott Carpenter, and Assistant Coach Ms. Sherri Heard on winning the 2012 Rhode Island
- 8 Division II Girls Lacrosse Championship; and be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and he hereby is authorized and directed to
- transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to Coach Scott Carpenter.

LC02769

======