LC01006

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2013

AN ACT

RELATING TO WATERS AND NAVIGATION -- NARRAGANSETT BAY COMMISSION

Introduced By: Representatives Ucci, Corvese, Lombardi, O'Brien, and Carnevale

Date Introduced: February 06, 2013

Referred To: House Environment and Natural Resources

It is enacted by the General Assembly as follows:

SECTION 1. Sections 46-25-6 and 46-25-7 of the General Laws in Chapter 46-25
entitled "Narragansett Bay Commission" are hereby amended to read as follows:

46-25-6. Composition of commission -- Appointment of members. -- (a) The commission shall consist of twenty three (23) nineteen (19) members to be appointed in the following manner: ten (10) members shall be appointed by the governor from the public as herein provided. Two (2) members shall be appointed by the mayor of the city of Providence; one member each shall be appointed by the mayor of the town of North Providence, the mayor of the town of Johnston, mayor of the city of Pawtucket, mayor of the town of Cumberland, town administrator of the town of Lincoln, mayor of the city of Central Falls, and mayor of the city of East Providence. Two (2) members of the house of representatives to be appointed by the speaker, and two (2) members of the senate to be appointed by the president of the senate.

- (b) The appointments to the commission shall be made as follows:
- (1) The governor shall appoint two (2) members of the commission to serve until the first day of April, 1981, two (2) members to serve until the first day of April, 1982, four (4) members to serve until the first day of April, 1983, one member to serve until the first day of April 1993, one member to serve until the first day of April 1994, and all to serve until their successors are appointed and qualified. In the month of March in each year thereafter, the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate, shall appoint successors to the members of the commission whose term is expiring in that year, each member so appointed to hold office for a three (3) year

period commencing on the first day of April in the year of appointment and continuing until the first day of April in the third year after his or her appointment and until his or her successor is appointed and qualified. Any vacancy for a public member, which may occur in the commission, shall be filled by the governor for the remainder of the unexpired term.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

- (2) The mayor of the city of Providence shall appoint one member of the commission to serve until the first day of April, 1982, and one member to serve until the first day of April, 1983, and all to serve until their successors are appointed and qualified. The mayor of the town of North Providence and the mayor of the town of Johnston each shall appoint a member to serve until the first day of April, 1981, each member so appointed shall serve until his or her successor is appointed and qualified. The Mayor of the city of Pawtucket shall appoint one member of the commission to serve until the first day of April, 1993, and such member so appointed shall serve until his or her successor is appointed and qualified. The town administrator of the town of Lincoln and the mayor of the city of Central Falls shall each appoint one member of the commission to serve until the first day of April, 1994, and each member so appointed shall serve until his or her successor is appointed and qualified. The mayors of the town of Cumberland and the city of East Providence shall each appoint one member of the commission to serve until the first day of April, 1995, and each member so appointed shall serve until his or her successor is appointed and qualified. In the month of March in each year thereafter, the respective mayors and town administrator shall appoint a successor to the member of the commission whose term is expiring, each member so appointed to hold office for a three (3) year period, commencing on the first day of April in the year of appointment and continuing until the first day of April in the third year after his or her appointment and until his or her successor is appointed and qualified. The legislative members so appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and the president of the senate shall hold office for a three (3) year period and until their successor is appointed and qualified. Any vacancy which may occur in the commission shall be filled by the appointing authority who originally appointed the member, and the appointment shall be for the remainder of the unexpired term.
 - (3) Members of the commission shall be eligible for reappointment.
- 46-25-7. Officers of the commission -- Quorum and vote required. -- Forthwith, after May 16, 1980, and annually in the month of April thereafter, the commission shall elect one of its members as chairperson, and one of its members as vice chairperson. Twelve (12) A simple majority of the members of the commission shall constitute a quorum. No vacancy in the membership of the commission shall impair the right of a quorum to exercise all the rights and perform all of the duties of the commission.

1	SECTION 2. This act shall take effect upon passage
	LC01006
	======

EXPLANATION

BY THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

OF

AN ACT

RELATING TO WATERS AND NAVIGATION -- NARRAGANSETT BAY COMMISSION

This act would reduce the number of Narragansett Bay Commission members from twenty-three (23) down to nineteen (19). It would also reduce the number required for a quorum to a simple majority.

This act would take effect upon passage.

======
LC01006