LC01920

19

and

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2013

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE 34 FRESHMEN AT NORTH SMITHFIELD HIGH SCHOOL WHO WON THE RHODE ISLAND "WE THE PEOPLE" COMPETITION

Introduced By: Representatives Newberry, Mattiello, Shekarchi, Trillo, and Chippendale

Date Introduced: April 04, 2013

Referred To: House read and passed

WHEREAS, North Smithfield High School freshmen have taken the first-place slot in the 1 2 state's "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution" competition for a seventh year in a row; 3 and WHEREAS, "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution Competition" is 4 sponsored by the Center for Civic Education and is a yearly competition held in Washington, 5 6 D.C., for American high school students. Teams are divided into six units, each comprised of 7 three or more members, and each team focuses on a particular area of Constitutional interest; and 8 WHEREAS, On February 14, 2013, at West Warwick High School, a group of 34 9 freshmen from North Smithfield High School under the guidance of honors American 10 Government teacher, Mrs. Natalie O'Brien, competed against students from area high schools to 11 win the "We the People" Competition. Since September, the freshmen class had labored for 12 countless hours to study the Constitution, its founding principles, and its historical and modern 13 applications; and 14 WHEREAS, The competition requires that students deliver a prepared statement on a 15 specific Constitutional topic and answer a series of questions asked by a panel of judges. The students prepare for a wide variety of potential follow-up questions, are not allowed to use any 16 materials, and are not aware of the questions they will be asked until they are posed. The students 17 18 are required to develop the important skills of critical thinking and performing under pressure;

1	WHEREAS, As a result of their on February 14 th victory, this class will travel to
2	Washington, D.C., from April 26 th through April 30 th to represent Rhode Island in the National
3	Finals; now, therefore be it
4	RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island and
5	Providence Plantations hereby extend our congratulations to honors American Government
6	teacher, Mrs. Natalie O'Brien, and the following 34 freshmen students of North Smithfield High
7	School: Casey Aridano, Gwen Brannigan, Riley Boucher, Melissa Cianci, Nick Degnan, Doug
8	Deslauriers, Patrick Eddy, Kyle Eldridge, Eric Ethier, Cameron Furtado, Robin Hall, Jacob
9	Haner, Oliver Hazard, Chris Hetu, Madison Hill, Josh Kruzan, Kim L'Etoile, Josh Labonte, Alex
10	Lachance, Matthew Laferriere, Allison Lambert, Maddie LaPlante, Emily Larson, Cassandra
11	Malo, Heather McClure, Caitlin Murray, Marc Parsons, Emily Pelletier, Sarah Pugliese, Zachary
12	Racine, Julia Rodrigues, Rebecca Soito, Olivia Stone, and Luke Watkins, for winning the Rhode
13	Island "We the People" Competition, and we wish this hard-working class the best of luck in the
14	National Competition; and be it further
15	RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
16	transmit duly certified copies of this resolution to honors American Government teacher Mrs.
17	Natalie O'Brien and the 34 freshmen of North Smithfield High School who will represent Rhode
18	Island in the National "We the People" Competition.

LC01920

======