LC002910

2015 -- H 6330

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2015

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE LA SALLE ACADEMY BOYS' LACROSSE TEAM ON WINNING THE 2015 RHODE ISLAND BOYS' LACROSSE STATE CHAMPIONSHIP

Introduced By: Representatives Gallison, Mattiello, and Jacquard

Date Introduced: June 18, 2015

Referred To: House read and passed

WHEREAS, The La Salle Academy Boys' Lacrosse team, led by the innovative coaching
 provided by Head Coach Steven O'Donnell, entered the 2015 Rhode Island Boys' Lacrosse
 Championship as one of the leading contenders after winning their Division and compiling an
 outstanding regular season record of 12 and 1; and

5 WHEREAS, After earning a first round bye in the state tournament, La Salle thrashed 6 East Greenwich 17 to 4, thereby earning a spot in the championship game against arch-rival 7 Moses Brown. In the hard-fought title game, La Salle prevailed 9 to 8 over Moses Brown in a 8 thrilling game that saw La Salle race out to a big lead, Moses Brown make a big comeback, and 9 La Salle finally emerging victorious late in the game thanks in part to the superb play provided by 10 player of the game, Joe Manown; and

11 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship requires that everyone on the team give their 12 all and put aside personal goals in favor of team needs and aspirations. The La Salle Academy 13 Boys' Lacrosse Team had those qualities in abundance as they were aided all season by the 14 leadership provided by team Captains Patrick S. Kamm, Joseph T. Manown, and Nicholas L. 15 Battista, along with the contributions provided by Drew C. Edwards, Evan H. McGreen, Michael P. Dignan, Logan D. Liljeberg, Matthew J. Bacon, Dylan T. O'Donnell, Nicholas J. DiPalma, 16 Connor M. Severino, Jared A. Blatt, Thomas A. Vessella, Nicholas J. DiMuccio, Matthew 17 18 Manown, William C. Messner, Mason R. Matook, Jonathan A. Volpe, Samuel T. Coleman, 19 Andrew J. Yarrow, Brett J. Dolan, Owen P. Smith, Travis W. Pereira, Eric W. Dench, Tyler L. Glick, Ryan T. Conley, Charles B. White, Ethan J. Ennis, Conor A. Regan, Daniel P. Ennis,
Ethan J. Robson, LaJhon D. Jones, Jr., Rohan P. Mahoney, Ryan G. Schwender, John D. Wait,
IV, Alexi J. Fauzey, Finn G. Kegelman, Timothy L. Faria, and Christian Cusack. La Salle also
benefitted all season by the superb coaching provided by Head Coach Steven O'Donnell, and
Assistant Coaches Andrew Briggs, Kevin Casey, John Ricci, and Benjamin Russell; now,
therefore be it

RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island and
Providence Plantations hereby congratulates the La Salle Academy Boys' Lacrosse Team on
winning the 2015 Rhode Island Boys' Lacrosse State Championship; and be it further

10 RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
11 transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to La Salle Academy Boys' Lacrosse Head Coach,
12 Mr. Steven O' Donnell.

LC002910