LC002332

19

## STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

## IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## **JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2015**

## SENATE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE LA SALLE ACADEMY BOYS HOCKEY TEAM ON WINNING THE 2014-2015 RHODE ISLAND INTERSCHOLASTIC LEAGUE STATE CHAMPIONSHIP

Introduced By: Senators DaPonte, Paiva Weed, Walaska, P Fogarty, and Goodwin

Date Introduced: March 31, 2015

Referred To: Recommended for Immediate Consideration

WHEREAS, The La Salle Academy Boys Hockey Team had an outstanding 2014-2015 1 2 regular season, compiling an outstanding overall record of 15-3-1, and outdistancing their 3 competitors to win their division in the regular season; and 4 WHEREAS, La Salle faced Smithfield in the State Championship Semi-Finals and swept them, winning both games easily by scores of 5-1 and 6-1. In the State Finals, La Salle and 5 6 Hendricken split their first two games with La Salle winning the first game 3-1, and losing the 7 second game in overtime by the score of 2-1. In the deciding game of this hard fought series, La Salle defeated their arch rivals 4-1 to win their first hockey championship in 38 years. The Rams 8 9 were led to victory by Senior Goalie Tyler Walsh, who was named the game's Most Valuable 10 Player, and by the clutch goal scoring provided by Joe Manown and Ryan Tracy; and 11 WHEREAS, Winning a State Championship in a team sport requires that every member 12 of the team put team goals first even if they come at the expense of individual goals. The 2014-13 2015 La Salle Boys Hockey Team had those qualities in abundance as they were led all season by 14 the significant contributions provided by Captains Tyler J. Walsh, Benjamin R. Aldrich, Ryan J. 15 Tracy, and Noah J. Long, Sean M. Gill, Jackson A. Orton, Matthew B. Ernster, Thomas M. Pawlitschek, Connor M. Severino, Ethan G. Robson, Alexander J. Newton, Nick V. Altieri, 16 Christian D. Sorensen, Drew C. Edwards, William C. DeBlois, Ryan J. Kelly, Logan D. 17 18 Liljeberg, Evan H. McGreen, Nicholas J. DiMuccio, Matthew Manown, Tyler L. Glick, Joseph T.

Manown, Ryan G. Schwender, Michael J. Sullivan, Jr., Taylor M. Peltier, Alex B. Chace, and

- 1 Team Manager Tyler Shemick. The Rams were also blessed to have an outstanding coaching staff
- 2 led by Head Coach Michael Gaffney, and Assistant Coaches Stephen Gaffney, Joseph McCabe,
- 3 James Mello, and Michael O' Neill; and be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
- 5 transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to Mr. Michael Gaffney, La Salle Boys Hockey
- 6 Head Coach.

LC002332

=======