LC002808

19

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2015

SENATE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE 2014-2015 WESTERLY HIGH SCHOOL BOYS' LACROSSE TEAM ON WINNING THE 2015 RHODE ISLAND DIVISION III STATE CHAMPIONSHIP

Introduced By: Senator Dennis L. Algiere

Date Introduced: June 02, 2015

Referred To: Placed on the Senate Consent Calendar

WHEREAS, The Westerly Bulldogs boys lacrosse team compiled a storybook season, 1 2 winning the State Championship, compiling a perfect record of 16-0, and became the first 3 Westerly boys varsity team to go unbeaten since their football team went undefeated in 1985; and 4 WHEREAS, Westerly entered the 2015 Rhode Island Boys Lacrosse Tournament as the one-seed and easily dispatched Chariho in the first round by the score of 14 to 1. In the semi-5 finals, Westerly defeated Tiverton/Rogers co-op by the score of 4 to 3 in a bitterly fought contest 6 7 that went down to the final possession; and 8 WHEREAS, In the championship game against second-seeded and arch-rival 9 Burrillville/North Smithfield co-op, the Westerly Bulldogs were once again forced to dig deep 10 within themselves in order to prevail over a very worthy opponent. In a closely contested, back 11 and forth contest, Westerly emerged victorious when they incredibly scored a shorthanded goal 12 late in the game. Surprising their opponent by going on the attack despite being shorthanded, 13 Matt Morrone made an excellent clearing pass to Lucas Hiltz who, in turn, stood his ground and 14 took a big hit, but not before he made a superb pass to Christian Dean who put the ball in the net 15 for what turned out to be the game-winning goal that secured the State Title for the Bulldogs. Westerly Junior Goalie Isaac Kaufman contributed 13 key saves and was named the Most 16 17 Outstanding Player of the Game; and 18 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship requires that every member of the team give

their all and be completely committed to achieving team goals, even if that comes at the expense

- of individual goals. The 2014-2015 Westerly Boys' Lacrosse Team had those qualities in
- 2 abundance as they were aided all season by the important contributions provided by Carter S.
- White, John C. Duncan, III, Timothy J. Dobson, Zachary Hyman, Andrew Leclair, Kyle J.
- 4 Keegan, Captain Ryan P. Bartholomew, Captain Patrick R. Johns, Christian J. Dean, Derek Orr,
- 5 Matthew P. Morrone, Dante F. Turano, Alexander K. Chandy, Lucas A. Hiltz, Spencer
- 6 Terranova, John Labriola, Ryan Holloway, Connor A. Peloquin, Latham Woodman, Matthew P.
- 7 Lynch, Eddie Fernandez, Seth E. Rohdin, Captain Isaac Kaufman, Marcus Lamb, Trent Orr, Ben
- 8 J. Lenzner, Holsten Z. Jimno, Connor M. Swain, Captain Brandon M. Swain, and Gaelen Frink.
- 9 The Westerly Bulldogs also benefited from having a superb coaching staff led by Head Coach
- 10 Bruce Brawley, Assistant Coach Dr. Adam Kaufman, and Volunteer Coach Chad Trombino;
- 11 now, therefore be it
- RESOLVED, That this Senate of the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
- hereby congratulates the 2014-2015 Westerly High School Boys' Lacrosse Team on winning the
- 14 2015 Rhode Island Division III State Championship; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
- transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to Mr. Bruce Brawley, Head Coach, Westerly
- 17 Boys' Lacrosse.

LC002808

=======