2016 -- H 8141

LC005843

19

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2016

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE BURRILLVILLE BOYS' HOCKEY TEAM ON WINNING THE 2016 BOYS' DIVISION I STATE CHAMPIONSHIP

Introduced By: Representatives Keable, Newberry, Phillips, Fogarty, and Morin

Date Introduced: May 03, 2016

Referred To: House read and passed

1 WHEREAS, The Burrillville Boys' Hockey Team, the defending State Champions, had 2 an outstanding 2015-2016 regular season in their quest to repeat as champions, compiling an 3 undefeated 13-0-2 record and thoroughly dominating their competition; and 4 WHEREAS, In the semi-finals of the State Tournament, the Broncos faced the Prout School and in a tough three game series, emerged victorious when they won the deciding game 2 5 to 1 in overtime thanks to a clutch goal scored by Senior Co-Captain Riley Tupper, who fired a 6 7 thunderous slap shot past the Prout Goaltender to send the Broncos to the State Tournament Finals; and 8 9 WHEREAS, Burrillville faced arch-rival Cumberland in the Championship and swept 10 them in a hard-fought final round with Cumberland winning the first game by the score of 2 to 1, 11 and wrapping up the State Title in the clinching game by the score of 3 to 2 in a shootout. 12 Burrillville was led to victory by series Most Valuable Player, Goaltender Bryan McConnell who 13 made 32 saves in the first game, and made the biggest save of the series in the second game 14 shootout when he denied Cumberland on their fifth shot in the shootout and by the outstanding 15 play of Mike Keable, who scored the game-winning goal on the fourth shot of the shootout; and 16 WHEREAS, Winning a State Championship in a team sport is a difficult feat, one requiring that every member of the team always give their all and unselfishly place team goals 17 18 ahead of personal aspirations. The Burrillville Broncos Boys' Hockey Team had those qualities in

abundance as they were led all season by the significant contributions provided by Seniors

- 1 Connor Chambers, Tyler Kearney and Riley Tupper along with fellow Juniors, Matt Bianco,
- 2 Aaron Buxton, Matt Gagne, Andrew Godfrin, Tyler Gustafson, Sam Hetu, Mike Keable, Mike
- 3 Lamoureux, Bryan McConnell, Chris Messier, and Billy Robinson, Sophomores, Cameron
- 4 Doherty, Matt Heon, Casey Lambert, Devin Lannan, Adam Palumbo, Andrew Peck, Kyle
- 5 Pelletier, Jake Salley, Colin Stone, Avery Tupper and Jake Zazza, and Freshman Joe Baffoni,
- 6 Austin Boutiette, Conner Doherty, Nick Gervais, Sam Hayden, Elliot Lafond, Colin McCarthy,
- 7 Matt McClure, Ben Round, Hunter Soderi and Anthony Surro; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The Burrillville Boys' Hockey Team benefited all season from the
- 9 exemplary leadership and innovative coaching provided by Head Coach William Robinson and
- 10 Volunteers Mark Derby, Dan Durand, Craig Koprusak, and Dr. Matthew Stone, along with the
- 11 hard work and support given by Managers Garrett Briggs and Trevor Deschamps; now, therefore
- 12 be it
- RESOLVED, That this House of the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
- 14 hereby congratulates the Burrillville Boys' Hockey Team on winning the 2016 Rhode Island
- 15 Division I State Championship; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
- 17 transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to Mr. William Robinson, Head Coach,
- 18 Burrillville Boys' Hockey Team.

LC005843
