LC002761

### 2017 -- H 6253

## STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

#### **IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY**

#### JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2017

#### HOUSE RESOLUTION

#### CONGRATULATING THE NORTH SMITHFIELD "WE THE PEOPLE" STUDENTS AND TEAM TEACHERS ON WINNING THE 2017 STATEWIDE COMPETITION

Introduced By: Representatives Newberry, Morin, Phillips, Winfield, and Keable Date Introduced: May 25, 2017

Referred To: House read and passed

1 WHEREAS, Thirty-five students from North Smithfield High School, under the expert 2 guidance of their American Government honors class teacher and Social Studies Department 3 chair, Mrs. Natalie O'Brien, and teachers Hannah Cevoli and Mark Hickox, won the "We the People" statewide competition. This was the eleventh consecutive year that the North Smithfield 4 5 team won the state competition; and 6 WHEREAS, As a result of taking the state title, the team earned the honor of representing 7 Rhode Island in the National Finals of the "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution Competition" held on April 21st through the 24th at the National Conference Center in 8 9 Washington, D.C.; and 10 WHEREAS, "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution Competition" is sponsored by the Center for Civic Education and is an annual competition held in Washington, 11 12 D.C., for American high school students. Teams are divided into six units, each comprised of 13 three or more members, and each team focuses on a particular area of Constitutional interest; and 14 WHEREAS, For the competition, members of the North Smithfield teams delivered 15 prepared statements on a specific Constitutional topic and answered a series of questions asked by an esteemed panel of judges. Prior to the competition, the teams prepared for a wide variety of 16 17 potential follow-up questions, as they were not allowed to use any materials during the 18 competition, and were not forewarned of what questions would be posed until they were asked. 19 The format of the competition requires students to develop the important skills of critical thinking

1 and performing under pressure; and

WHEREAS, During the 30<sup>th</sup> Annual We the People National Finals, before a packed audience and a panoply of prestigious state and local officials serving as judges, this year's North Smithfield team units demonstrated their amazing determination, scholarship and teamwork and have eminently earned our utmost praise and recognition; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island and 6 7 Providence Plantations hereby extends our congratulations for winning the 2017 Rhode Island 8 "We the People" Competition to the team's coaches, Mrs. Natalie O'Brien, Hannah Cevoli, and 9 Mark Hickox, and team members, Maxwell Bischoff, Alexia Brandao, Alexandra Boutelle, Kayla 10 Butler, Andrew Cabral, Nicole Connell, Ethan Corriveau, Elizabeth Dagesse, Matthew DiNezza, 11 Cole Dubois, Erica Enright, Michael Ethier, Melody Fontaine, Thomas Fura, James Hanlon, Ian 12 Hartley, Jackson Laferriere, Nathan Lamoureux, Kate Lapierre, Kristiana Lapierre, Noah 13 Lemoine, Nathan Masi, Samantha Mattos, Quinn Parent, Anthony Parente, Paige Pessia, Madison 14 Reynolds, Hannah Samek, Rachel Shaw, Megan Skinner, Victoria Thurley, Abigail Votta, Lucas 15 Whitton, Liam Zonin, and Forrest Zuba. We moreover wish all the team members much success 16 in all their future endeavors; and be it further

17 RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to18 transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to Mrs. Natalie O'Brien.

# LC002761

LC002761 - Page 2 of 2