LC003558

2018 -- H 7128

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2018

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CELEBRATING THE 100TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE CREATION OF THE DISTINGUISHED SERVICE CROSS (DSC) BY THE UNITED STATES ARMY AND HONORING THE TWENTY-SIX RHODE ISLANDERS WHO RECEIVED THE DISTINGUISHED SERVICE CROSS DURING WORLD WAR I

Introduced By: Representatives Vella-Wilkinson, Hull, Lancia, Casimiro, and Morin Date Introduced: January 11, 2018 Referred To: House read and passed

WHEREAS, The Distinguished Service Cross (DSC) is the second highest military award
 that can be given to a member of the United States Army; and

WHEREAS, General Pershing, the Commander-in-Chief of the American Expeditionary
Forces in France during World War I, desired the authorization and creation of a military medal
other than the Medal of Honor to recognize and honor the valorous service of United States Army
Personnel; and

WHEREAS, The request for the establishment of the Distinguished Service Cross was
forwarded from the Secretary of War to President Wilson in a letter dated December 28, 1917.
President Wilson shortly thereafter established the Distinguished Service Cross on January 2,
10 1918. The War Department later promulgated its establishment with General Order No. 6, on
January 12, 1918, and the United States Congress passed an Act establishing it on July 9, 1918;
and

WHEREAS, Twenty- Six Rhode Islanders were awarded the Distinguished Service Cross for their valorous service to our nation during World War I. They were: Sgt. John W. Norton from Central Falls, Cpl. Russell K. Bourne and Sgt. John T. Preston, Jr., from Lincoln, 2nd Lt. Horace L. Borden, 2nd Lt. Scott M. Johnston, Sgt. James B. Lawless and Capt. Stephen H. Noyes from Newport, Capt. Dwight T. Colley from Barrington, Pvt. Andrew W. Capwell, Cpl. John Connors, 2ND Lt. Rowland S. Dodge, and Pfc. Earl R. Siner from Pawtucket, Sgt. Joshua K. Broadhead, 1st Sgt. Edward Donnelly, Pvt. George R. Fratus, Cpl. James A. Greene, Pvt. Thomas
 J. Hickey, Sgt. Herald A. Johnson, Capt. Normand D. Macleod, 1st Lt. John I. Rancourt, and Pvt.
 John H. Zimmer, all of Providence, 1st LT. Charles Raymond Blake, Cpl. Josiah Broadgfoot, and
 Lt. Richard O'Brien Shea, all of Westerly, and 1st Sgt. David M. Nadeau of Woonsocket; now,
 therefore be it

6 RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island and 7 Providence Plantations hereby celebrates the 100th Anniversary of the creation of the United 8 States Army's Distinguished Service Cross. We furthermore honor the twenty-six Rhode 9 Islanders who were awarded the Distinguished Service Cross during World War I, and thank all 10 recipients for their valorous service to our nation; and be it further

11 RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
12 transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to Rhode Island Adjutant General, Major General
13 Christopher Callahan.

LC003558