2018 -- H 8229

LC005761

19

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2018

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE 2018 INDUCTEES INTO THE RHODE ISLAND MUSIC HALL OF FAME

Introduced By: Representatives Messier, Morin, Phillips, Johnston, and Mattiello

Date Introduced: May 23, 2018

Referred To: House read and passed

1 WHEREAS, The Rhode Island Music Hall of Fame is a nonprofit corporation that was 2 organized exclusively for charitable purposes. The Hall is dedicated "to celebrating, honoring, 3 and preserving the legacy of Rhode Island musicians, educators, and industry professionals who 4 have made significant contributions to the national and Rhode Island music scene"; and WHEREAS, Annually, The Hall conducts an election of inductees from a list of 5 nominees submitted by the organization's Nominating Committee. Inductees are from all genres 6 7 of music and all aspects of the music industry, including artists, writers, producers, media, educators, promoters and business executives. The final awardees are approved by a vote of the 8 9 Hall's Board of Directors; and 10 WHEREAS, In addition, the Hall supports programs and services to promote and 11 strengthen Rhode Island's current and future music scene with the goal of ensuring that "music 12 continues to play an important role in the lives of all Rhode Islanders"; and 13 WHEREAS, The 2018 Inductees into the Rhode Island Hall of Fame have brought joy to thousands of fans in Rhode Island through their creativity and talents and have earned our much-14 15 deserved recognition and praise; now, therefore be it 16 RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations hereby congratulates John Chan, Mike Renzi, Tom Ghent, Lloyd Kaplan, 17 18 Andrew Polin, Bob Morrissey, LeRoy Bennett, James Montgomery, and posthumously Paul

Murphy and David Blue, on their induction into the Rhode Island Music Hall of Fame. We are

- delighted that the musical accomplishments of these Ocean State icons will be celebrated,
- 2 honored, and permanently preserved. We furthermore wish all of the inductees many more years
- 3 of harmony, happiness and good health; and be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
- 5 transmit duly certified copies of this resolution to John Chan, Mike Renzi, Tom Ghent, Lloyd
- 6 Kaplan, Andrew Polin, Bob Morrissey, LeRoy Bennett, and James Montgomery.

LC005761