LC005804

2018 -- H 8266

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2018

HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING THE NORTH SMITHFIELD "WE THE PEOPLE" STUDENTS AND TEAM TEACHER ON WINNING THE 2018 STATEWIDE COMPETITION

Introduced By: Representatives Newberry, Morin, Filippi, Winfield, and Keable

Date Introduced: May 31, 2018

Referred To: House read and passed

1	WHEREAS, "We the People" is sponsored by the Center for Civic Education and is an
2	annual competition for American high school students. Teams are divided into six units, each
3	comprised of three or more members, and each team focuses on a particular area of Constitutional
4	interest; and
5	WHEREAS, This year marks the twelfth consecutive year that the North Smithfield team,
6	under the expert guidance of their American Government honors class teacher and Social Studies
7	Department Chair, Mrs. Natalie O'Brien, have won the "We the People" statewide competition;
8	and
9	WHEREAS, As a result of taking the state title, the team earned the honor of representing
10	Rhode Island at the 31st Annual National Finals of the "We the People" competition which was
11	held on April 27 through May 1 at the National Conference Center; and
12	WHEREAS, At the finals, more than 1,100 high school students from 52 classes across
13	the United States of America demonstrated their in-depth understanding of government and the
14	Constitution; and
15	WHEREAS, At both the State and National finals, members of the North Smithfield team
16	demonstrated their amazing determination, scholarship and teamwork and have eminently earned
17	our utmost praise and recognition; now, therefore be it
18	RESOLVED, That this House of Representatives of the State of Rhode Island and

19 Providence Plantations hereby extends our congratulations for winning the 2018 Rhode Island

"We the People" Competition to the team's coach, Mrs. Natalie O'Brien, and team members, Ben
Dube, Owen Dubois, Deven Grant, Kameron Chartier, Meghan Stevens, Brenden Silvia, Emile
Caron, Declan Eddy, Ryan Walsh, Meaghan Marcoux, Megan Stevens, Natalia Yearby, Eva
Carnevale, Kaelyn Helm, Thao Nguyen, Elison Decarvalho, Devony Omweg, and Alyson Paux
and wish all the team members much success in all their future endeavors; and be it further
RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to

7 transmit a duly certified copy of this resolution to Mrs. Natalie O'Brien.

LC005804