A N A C T
RELATING TO THE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
It is enacted by the General Assembly as follows:
SECTION 1. Section 5-31.1-2 of the General Laws in Chapter 5-31.1 entitled "Dentists and Dental Hygienists" is hereby amended to read as follows:
5-31.1-2. Board of examiners in dentistry -- Members -- Compensation - Funds. -- (a) There is created within the department of health, the Rhode Island board of examiners in dentistry which is composed of the following members:
(1) Six (6) licensed dentists;
(2) Four (4) public members not associated with the dental field;
(3) Two (2) licensed dental hygienists; and
(4) The chief of the office of dental public health, who serves as
chairperson a member of the board.
(b) The governor appoints the members of the board except that prior to appointing the six (6) dentist members the governor may submit a list of all candidates to the appropriate dental societies for comments as to their qualifications.
When the board was first selected, it consisted of seven (7) members and four (4) members were appointed for a term of three (3) years, two (2) were appointed for a term of two (2) years and one for a term of one year. From the six (6) additional members three (3) are appointed for a term of three (3) years, two (2) for a term of two (2) years and one for a term of one year. No member is appointed for more than two (2) consecutive full terms. A member appointed for less than a full term (originally or to fill a vacancy) may serve two (2) full terms in addition to that part of a full term, and a former member is again eligible for appointment after a lapse of one or more years. All subsequent appointments to the board are for a term of three (3) years. Any member of the board may be removed by the governor for neglect of duty, misconduct, malfeasance, or misfeasance in office after being given a written statement of the charges against him or her and sufficient opportunity to be heard on the charges. The board shall elect from its members a chairperson, who shall be a dentist duly licensed under the laws of the state of Rhode Island, and a vicechairperson who shall in the absence of the chairperson exercise all powers of the chairperson and secretary who serve for one year or until their successors are appointed and qualified. The board meets at least once a month or more often upon the call of the chairperson, director of health or dental administrator, at any times and places that the chairperson designates.
(c) Members of the board are paid one hundred dollars ($100) for each day or portion of a day spent in discharge of official duties; provided, that the compensation in one year does not exceed the sum of five thousand dollars ($5,000) per member.
(d) The administration of the board is funded from annual fees. The director shall in consultation with the board determine the amount of the annual fee to be charged to each licensed dentist and dental hygienist, the payment of which is a condition to practicing dentistry or dental hygiene in the state. The director or the dental administrator has the authority to suspend or revoke the license of any dentist or dental hygienist who does not pay the annual fee. Monies are received by the department and deposited in the general fund as general revenues.
SECTION 2. This act shall take effect upon passage.