A N A C T
RELATING TO TRANSPORTATION OF BEVERAGES
It is enacted by the General Assembly as follows:
SECTION 1. Chapter 3-4 of the General Laws entitled "Transportation of Beverages" is hereby amended by adding thereto the following section:
3-4-8. Unlawful sale and shipment. -- (a) It shall be unlawful for any person in the business of selling intoxicating beverages in another state or country to ship or cause to be shipped any intoxicating beverage directly to any Rhode Island resident who does not hold a valid wholesaler license issued by the state of Rhode Island. The foregoing shall not apply however to an order for intoxicating beverages personally placed by the purchaser at the manufacturer's premises, for shipment to an address in Rhode Island, for nonbusiness purposes. Any shipment of intoxicating beverages pursuant to this section shall include the language: "Contains Alcohol, Adult Signature (over 21) Required for Delivery."
(b) Any person who violates subsection (a) of this section shall, for the first offense, be mailed a certified letter by the department ordering that person to cease and desist any shipments of intoxicating beverages to any Rhode Island resident; for the second offense the department shall assess a fine of five hundred dollars ($500); and for a third offense and after each subsequent offense shall assess a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).
SECTION 2. This act shall take effect upon passage.