2007 -- H 6558

Enacted 06/21/07


H O U S E  R E S O L U T I O N




     Introduced By: Representatives Rice, Gallison, and Loughlin

     Date Introduced: June 20, 2007




     RESOLVED, That a special house commission be and the same is hereby created

consisting of six (6) members: four (4) of whom shall be members of the House of

Representatives, not more than three (3) from the same political party, to be appointed by the

Speaker; and two (2) of whom shall be representatives of the general public, one of whom shall

be from the town of Portsmouth and one of whom shall be from the town of Tiverton, to be

appointed by the Speaker.

     In lieu of any appointment of a member of the legislature to a permanent advisory

commission, a legislative study commission, or any commission created by a general assembly

resolution, the appointing authority may appoint a member of the general public to serve in lieu

of a legislator, provided that the majority leader or the minority leader of the political party which

is entitled to the appointment consents to the appointment of the member of the general public.

     The purpose of said commission shall be to study the renaming of the Sakonnet River


     Forthwith upon passage of this resolution, the members of the commission shall meet at

the call of the Speaker, and the Speaker shall appoint a chairperson. Vacancies in said

commission shall be filled in like manner as the original appointment.

     The membership of said commission shall receive no compensation for their services.

     All departments and agencies of the state shall furnish such advice and information,

documentary and otherwise, to said commission and its agents as is deemed necessary or

desirable by the commission to facilitate the purposes of this resolution.

     The Speaker of the House is hereby authorized and directed to provide suitable quarters

for said commission; and be it further

     RESOLVED, That the commission shall report its findings and recommendations to the

House of Representatives on or before February 1, 2008 and said commission shall expire on

March 1, 2008,