Chapter 094
2015 -- S 0406
Enacted 06/19/2015

A N   A C T

Introduced By: Senators DiPalma, DaPonte, Coyne, Archambault, and Kettle
Date Introduced: February 25, 2015

It is enacted by the General Assembly as follows:
     SECTION 1. Section 42-140.1-4 of the General Laws in Chapter 42-140.1 entitled "The
Rhode Island Energy Efficiency and Resource Management Council" is hereby amended to read
as follows:
     42-140.1-4. Composition and appointment. -- (a) The council shall consist of thirteen
(13) fifteen (15) members appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate;
nine (9) members eleven (11) members shall be voting members, and the governor shall give
due consideration to appointing persons with knowledge of: (1) energy Energy regulation and
law; (2) large Large commercial/industrial users, (3) small Small commercial/industrial users;
(4) residential Residential users; (5) low income Low-income users; (6) environmental
Environmental issues pertaining to energy; (7) energy Energy design and codes; (8) energy
Energy efficiency education and employment tracking; and (9) municipal Municipal energy
users; (10) Large nonprofit institutional users; and (11) Small nonprofit institutional users. Four
(4) members shall be ex-officio, non-voting members, representing an electric distribution entity,
a gas distribution entity, fuel oil or heating fuel industry, and the commissioner of the office of
energy resources. From the nine (9) eleven (11) voting members, the governor shall appoint one
person to be chairperson of the council and one person to be vice chairperson of the council; the
commissioner of the office of energy resources shall be the executive secretary and executive
director of the council.
      (b) With the exception of the commissioner of the office of energy resources; of the
initial appointments; three (3) members shall be appointed for a term of three (3) years, three (3)
members shall be appointed for a term of four (4) years, and four (4) members shall be appointed
for a term of five (5) years; thereafter members of the council shall be appointed for a term of five
(5) years and may be reappointed.
      (c) A simple majority of the total number of voting members shall constitute a quorum.
      (d) A vacancy other than by expiration shall be filled in the manner of the original
appointment but only for the unexpired portion of the term. The appointing authority shall have
the power to remove its appointee for just cause.
      (e) The members of the council shall not be compensated for their service but shall be
reimbursed for their actual expenses necessarily incurred in the performance of their duties. The
provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to the executive secretary/executive director.
     SECTION 2. This act shall take effect upon passage.