Chapter 049
2019 -- H 5163 SUBSTITUTE A
Enacted 06/28/2019

A N   A C T

Introduced By: Representatives Phillips, Solomon, Shekarchi, Ucci, and Hawkins
Date Introduced: January 23, 2019

It is enacted by the General Assembly as follows:
     SECTION 1. Sections 31-10.3-19, 31-10.3-20, 31-10.3-23 and 31-10.3-30 of the General
Laws in Chapter 31-10.3 entitled "Rhode Island Uniform Commercial Driver's License Act" are
hereby amended to read as follows:
     31-10.3-19. Examination of applicants.
     (a) The department shall examine every applicant for a commercial license or learner's
permit. The examination shall include: (1) a A test of the applicant's eyesight to be administered
according to standards set by the Federal Motor Carrier Regulations; (2) his His or her ability to
read English in understanding highway signs regulating, warning, and directing traffic; (3) his
His or her knowledge of the traffic laws of this state; and (4) shall Shall include an actual
demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor
vehicle or combination of vehicles of the type covered by the license classification, endorsement,
or restrictions which the applicant is seeking. Each applicant shall successfully complete the skills
test in the following order: (1) pre Pre-trip inspection, ; (2) basic Basic vehicle control skills, ;
and (3) on On-road skills. If an applicant fails one segment of the skills test the applicant cannot
continue to the next segment of the test; however, scores for the passed segments of the skills test
shall remain valid and an applicant will not be required to retake the segments previously passed
prior to expiration of the commercial learner's permit. The examination may also include any
further physical and mental examinations that the department deems necessary to determine the
applicant's fitness to safely operate a motor vehicle upon the highways.
     (b) A nonresident, who establishes residence in the state of Rhode Island and makes
application for a Rhode Island commercial license, shall not be required to demonstrate his or her
ability to operate a motor vehicle, unless the examiner has reason to believe such a demonstration
is needed; provided, that the nonresident surrenders a valid commercial license that was issued
under the requirements of the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 (see now 49 U.S.C.
§ 31101 et seq.); may be as amended from time to time by another state.
     (c) The department shall be permitted to promulgate rules and regulations pertaining to
third-party testing for the skills tests required for commercial driver's licenses in accordance with
49 CFR Part 383, as it may be revised from time to time.
     31-10.3-20. Fees.
     The fees charged for commercial licenses, endorsements, classifications, restrictions, and
required examinations shall be as follows:
     (1) For every commercial operator's first license, thirty dollars ($30.00);
     (2) For every renewal of a commercial license, fifty dollars ($50.00);
     (3) For every duplicate commercial license, ten dollars ($10.00);
     (4) For every duplicate commercial instruction learner's permit, ten dollars ($10.00);
     (5) For any change of:
     (i) Classification(s), ten dollars ($10.00);
     (ii) Endorsement(s), ten dollars ($10.00);
     (iii) Restriction(s), ten dollars ($10.00);
     (6) For every written and/or oral examination, ten dollars ($10.00);
     (7) The Rhode Island board of education shall establish fees that are deemed necessary
for the Community College of Rhode Island to administer the skill test, not to exceed one
hundred dollars ($100);
     (8) For every commercial Class P (learner's permit) first license, thirty dollars ($30.00);
and , sixty dollars ($60.00)
     (9) For every renewal of a commercial Class P (learner's permit) license, thirty dollars
     31-10.3-23. Expiration of licenses.
     Every commercial license issued by the department shall expire on the licensee's birth
date in the fifth year following the initial issuance, excluding Class P (learner's permit) licenses
commercial learner's permits which shall expire one hundred eighty (180) days one year from the
date of initial issuance, and excluding a first issuance which shall expire on the licensee's birth
date in the second year following initial issuance.
     31-10.3-30. Commercial driver's license required.
     (a) Except when operating under a commercial instruction learner's permit and
accompanied by the holder of a commercial license valid for the vehicle being operated, no
person shall operate a commercial motor vehicle unless the person has been issued a valid
commercial driver's license containing the endorsements, classifications, or restrictions applicable
to the type of vehicle being operated.
     (b) No person shall be issued a commercial driver's license until he or she has passed a
written and driving test for the operation of a commercial motor vehicle which that complies
with the minimum federal standards in 49 C.F.R. Part 383, as revised from time to time, and has
satisfied all other federal requirements as well as any other requirements imposed by state law
subject to the provisions of § 31-10.3-19(a). The tests shall be prescribed and conducted by the
department or a third party designated by the department.
     (c) A commercial license may be issued only to a person who operates, or who intends to
operate, commercial motor vehicles and who is domiciled in this state.
     (d) A commercial license shall not be issued to a person during a period in which that
person is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle or while that person's license is
suspended, revoked, cancelled, or otherwise withdrawn in any state or province of Canada; nor
shall a commercial driver's license be issued to a person who has a license issued by any other
state unless the person first surrenders the commercial driver's license issued by the other state,
which license shall be returned to the issuing state for cancellation.
     SECTION 2. This act shall take effect on January 1, 2020.
LC000236/SUB A/2