R 191
2019 -- S 0745
Enacted 04/03/2019

S E N A T E   R E S O L U T I O N

Introduced By: Senators Euer, Goldin, Coyne, Cano, and Murray
Date Introduced: April 03, 2019

     WHEREAS, The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan organization that has, over
its distinguished past, played a critical role in fostering civil debate and in shaping public policy
in myriad ways to reform government and create a more just and equitable society; and
     WHEREAS, The League of Women voters was founded in 1920 by Carrie Chapman Catt
who was a prominent women's suffrage leader and advocate who campaigned tirelessly for
passage of the nineteenth amendment to guarantee women in the United States the right to vote.
The League was founded in the hope of encouraging the twenty million American women who
could now vote to use their new power in ways that would influence and shape public policy and
the elected officials making these decisions; and
     WHEREAS, Through the years, the League has sponsored numerous "Get Out The Vote"
campaigns and sponsored and hosted presidential debates in 1976, 1980, and 1984. The League
has played a leading role at critical junctures in American history. President Truman invited the
League to serve as a consultant to the United States delegation at the United Nations Charter
Conference in 1945. In the 1960's League membership peaked at 157,000 members. In support of
the Civil Rights movement, the League supported equal access to education and employment; and
     WHEREAS, More recently, the League of Women Voters has strongly advocated in
support of protecting our environment, health care rights and access, and the protection of our
voting rights in addition to supporting legislation to make it easier to register, such as the
National Registration Act of 1993, commonly known as the "Motor-Voter Act" which required
states to offer the opportunity to register to vote to anyone who applies for, or renews a driver's
license; and
     WHEREAS, As the 100th Anniversary of the founding of the League of Women Voters
approaches in 2020, it is time to honor and recognize the League's numerous accomplishments
and thank them for their advocacy on behalf of the rights of women, minorities, and other
historically disadvantaged groups; now, therefore be it
     RESOLVED, That this Senate of the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
hereby joyously celebrates the forthcoming 100th Anniversary of the League of Women Voters in
2020; and be it further
     RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State be and hereby is authorized and directed to
transmit duly certified copies of this resolution to Ms. Virginia Kase, Chief Executive Officer,
League of Women Voters, and Ms. Jane Koster, President of the Rhode Island League of Women