Title 12
Criminal Procedure

Chapter 1.1
State Crime Laboratory Commission

R.I. Gen. Laws § 12-1.1-4

§ 12-1.1-4. Membership.

(a) The commission shall consist of five (5) members: the attorney general; the superintendent of state police; and a representative of the Rhode Island Police Chiefs Association appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate; and two (2) public members appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate. Appointed public members shall serve two (2) year terms and shall be eligible to succeed themselves.

(b) Members shall serve until their successors are appointed and qualified. Each member of the board may designate a subordinate within his or her department or agency to represent him or her at all meetings of the board. Three (3) members of the board shall constitute a quorum and the vote of a majority of those present and voting shall be required for action.

(c) Members of the commission shall be removable by the governor pursuant to the provisions of § 36-1-7 of the general laws and for cause only, and removal solely for partisan or personal reasons unrelated to capacity or fitness for the office shall be unlawful.

History of Section.
P.L. 1978, ch. 206, § 2: G.L. § 12-1.2-3; P.L. 1981, ch. 300, § 1: G.L. § 12-1.1-4; P.L. 2006, ch. 54, § 1; P.L. 2006, ch. 70, § 1.