CHAPTER 16-3.1
Cooperative Service Among School Districts [See Title 16 Chapter 97 – The Rhode Island Board of Education Act]

SECTION 16-3.1-7

§ 16-3.1-7. Newport County regional special education program.

Notwithstanding the provisions of any general or special law to the contrary, the school committees of the towns of Middletown, Portsmouth, Tiverton, and Little Compton are authorized and empowered to continue their cooperative efforts to provide special education programs and diagnostic services required by law or regulation, and related functions, through participation in the Newport County regional special education program and, for that purpose, to assign and delegate to their respective school committee chairs or designee or superintendents of schools or designee, acting as a regional board duties, responsibilities, and powers as the committees may deem necessary or desirable for the conduct, administration, and management of the regional special education program. In matters pertaining to the regional special education program, the regional board shall constitute and act as the school board referred to in chapter 24 of this title.

History of Section.
(P.L. 1979, ch. 310, § 1; P.L. 2003, ch. 433, § 1.)