TITLE 20
Fish and Wildlife

CHAPTER 20-1
General Provisions

SECTION 20-1-10


§ 20-1-10 Obligation of vessels to heave-to on command of a patrol boat.

(a) Every person operating a boat or vessel in Rhode Island territorial waters who fails to immediately heave-to upon a shouted command or a flare fired into the air from a marine patrol boat operated by the department of environmental management and carrying the identification "Department of Environmental Management, State of Rhode Island" shall be punished by a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500).

(b) Every person who, while aboard a boat or vessel in Rhode Island territorial waters which has been ordered to heave-to upon shouted command or a flare fired into the air from a marine patrol boat operated by the department of environmental management and carrying the identification "Department of Environmental Management, State of Rhode Island," dumps, destroys, or throws anything from the vessel or boat shall be punished by a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500).

History of Section.
(P.L. 1981, ch. 197, § 3.)