§ 21-31-5. Violations of chapter — Penalty — Exceptions.
(a) Any person who violates any of the provisions of § 21-31-3 shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction shall be subject to imprisonment for not more than six (6) months or a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or both imprisonment and fine; but if the violation is committed after a conviction of that person under this section has become final, the person shall be subject to imprisonment for not more than one year or a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both that imprisonment and fine.
(b) No person shall be subject to the penalties of subsection (a) of this section for having violated § 21-31-3(1) or (3) if that person establishes a guaranty or undertaking signed by, and containing the name and address of, the person residing in the state of Rhode Island from whom the person received the article in good faith, to the effect that the article is not adulterated or misbranded within the meaning of this chapter, designating this chapter.
(c) No publisher, radio broadcast licensee, or agency or medium for the dissemination of an advertisement, except the manufacturer, packer, distributor, or seller of the article to which a false advertisement relates, shall be liable under this section by reason of the dissemination by that person of a false advertisement, unless he or she has refused the request of the director of health to furnish the director of health the name and post office address of the manufacturer, packer, distributor, seller, or advertising agency residing in the state of Rhode Island who caused the person to disseminate the false advertisement.
History of Section.
P.L. 1959, ch. 56, § 1.