Health and Safety

CHAPTER 23-20.8
Licensing of Massage Therapists

SECTION 23-20.8-2.1

§ 23-20.8-2.1. Board of massage therapists.

(a) Within the division of professional regulation of the department of health, there shall be a Rhode Island state board of licensed massage therapists appointed by the director of the department of health with the approval of the governor. Composition of board members: The board shall consist of seven (7) members who reside in the state of Rhode Island. At all times at least four (4) members shall be massage therapists in good standing, and shall have engaged in the practice of massage therapy for not less than five (5) years. One member shall be a member of the general public, who does not have financial interest in the profession, or is married to or in domestic partnership with someone in the profession. At no time shall more than one board member be an owner of, an instructor of, or otherwise affiliated with a board-approved massage therapy school or a course of instruction. The four (4) members who are licensed pursuant to this chapter shall represent both solo practitioners as well as members of a group practice.

(b) The board shall be appointed for staggered terms. All terms shall be for two (2) years. No member shall serve more than three (3) consecutive terms. Upon the death, resignation, or removal of any member, the director of the department of health, with the approval of the governor, shall appoint to fill vacancies, as they occur, a qualified person to serve on the board for the remainder of his or her term or until his or her successor is appointed and qualified.

(c) The board shall elect, at its first meeting of the calendar year, from its members a chair and other officers as it deems appropriate and necessary to conduct business. The chair shall preside at meetings of the board and shall be responsible for the performance of all duties and functions of the board and shall perform those duties customarily associated with the position in addition to other duties assigned by the board. The board shall designate a member to serve in the absence of the chair.

(d) The chair and any other officer shall serve a term of one year commencing with the day of his or her election and ending upon the election of his or her successor.

(e) The director of the department of health may remove any member of the board for the neglect of any duty required by law or for any incompetent, unprofessional, or dishonorable conduct. Before beginning his or her term of office, each member shall take the oath prescribed by law, a record of which shall be filed with the secretary of state.

(f) A board member may be suspended or removed by the director of the department of health for unprofessional conduct; refusal or inability of a board member to perform his or her duties as a member of the board in an efficient, responsible, and professional manner; conviction of a felony or of a crime related to the practice of the healthcare profession; failure to meet the qualifications of this statute; or committing any act prohibited by this statute.

(g) Members of the board shall not receive compensation for their attendance at official meetings of the board, or attendance at any meeting that would constitute official board business, including teleconference calls or other board responsibilities.

(h) The board shall meet at least quarterly. The board may hold additional meetings at the call of the chair or at the written request of any three (3) members of the board. The chair of the board shall have the authority to call other meetings at his or her discretion.

(i) The board may appoint committees as it considers necessary to carry out its duties.

(j) A quorum shall be necessary to conduct official board business or any committee thereof. A majority of the members shall constitute a quorum. The board may enter into executive (closed) session according to relevant law.

History of Section.
(P.L. 2013, ch. 165, § 2; P.L. 2013, ch. 222, § 2; P.L. 2019, ch. 114, § 1; P.L. 2019, ch. 140, § 1.)