§ 27-14.5-5. Taxes, fees, assessments, pools, and regulatory and supervision fund.
(a) Application fee. Upon application to a court pursuant to § 27-14.5-4, the applicant shall pay a fee to the department in the amount of ten thousand dollars ($10,000).
(1) In connection with the departments' participation in the proceedings undertaken pursuant to § 27-14.5-4, the applicant shall be assessed the following expenses:
(i) One hundred fifty percent (150%) of the total salaries and benefits paid to the personnel of the department of business regulation engaged in the proceedings, including, but not limited to, examiners, actuaries, attorneys, managers, and para-professionals, less any salary reimbursements.
(ii) The department may retain independent attorneys, appraisers, actuaries, certified public accountants, or other professionals and specialists to assist department personnel in connection with the proceedings, the cost of which shall be borne by the applicant.
(b) Ongoing assessment.
(1) Every March 15, the commissioner shall assess each run-off insurer an amount equal to the greater of: (i) one thousand dollars ($1,000), or (ii) the sum of that run-off insurer's proportionate share of estimated regulatory expenditure for that calendar year and that run-off insurer's assessment deficit, less its assessment surplus.
(2) The calculation of the assessment surplus or deficit shall reflect the total cost of any examinations, which shall be borne by the companies so examined, and shall include the following expenses:
(i) One hundred fifty percent (150%) of the total salaries and benefits paid to the examining personnel of the department of business regulation engaged in those examinations, including, but not limited to, examiners, actuaries, attorneys, managers, and para-professionals, less any salary reimbursements;
(ii) All reasonable technology costs related to the examination process. Technology costs shall include the actual cost of software and hardware utilized in the examination process and the cost of training examination personnel in the proper use of the software or hardware;
(iii) All necessary and reasonable education and training costs incurred by the state to maintain the proficiency and competence of the examining personnel. All such costs shall be incurred in accordance with appropriate state of Rhode Island regulations, guidelines and procedures.
(3) Each run-off insurer shall pay the assessment to the department on or before the following fifteenth (15th) day of April.
(4) An insurer that redomiciles to Rhode Island after March 15 of any year and that qualifies as a run-off insurer upon redomestication shall pay an assessment equal to the commissioner's estimate of redomestication expenditure attributable to that run-off insurer.
(5) All revenues collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited as general revenues. That assessment shall be in addition to any taxes and fees otherwise payable to the state.
(c) Pools. Except with respect to policy renewals required by law or contract, no run-off insurer shall be subject to any assessment or assignment in connection with any residual market, fair plan, or assigned-risk plan mechanisms in this state.
This section shall only apply to run-off insurers that cease underwriting new business after January 1, 2002, or that were not domiciled in Rhode Island on January 1, 2002.
(P.L. 2002, ch. 381, § 1; P.L. 2011, ch. 167, § 1; P.L. 2011, ch. 294, § 1.)