Military Affairs and Defense

National Security Infrastructure Support Fund

SECTION 30-32-8

§ 30-32-8. National security infrastructure support fund advisory commission.

(a) There shall be established a permanent advisory board that shall consist of seven (7) members:

(1) One of whom shall be the secretary of commerce, or his or her designee;

(2) Two (2) of whom shall be the co-chairs of the Rhode Island defense economy planning commission;

(3) Four (4) of whom shall be representatives of defense dependent-communities, one named by the speaker of the house, one named by the senate president, one named by the minority leader of the house, and one named by the minority leader of the senate; and

(4) Additionally, the co-chairpersons may designate additional non-voting, ad hoc members whose technical expertise may be needed based upon national security infrastructure investment issues pending or projects submitted to the fund.

(b) This board shall be purely advisory and shall meet whenever a quorum of four (4) shall deem it necessary or at the request of the secretary when grant rounds are contemplated or in process.

(c) The co-chairs of the Rhode Island defense economy planning commission shall chair the advisory commission and its meetings.

(d) The advisory commission shall meet at the call of the chairpersons.

(e) The members of the board shall serve for a period of three (3) years.

(f) The purpose of this commission shall be to identify potential projects and to assist the secretary of commerce in evaluating projects for funding under the provisions of this chapter.

History of Section.
(P.L. 2014, ch. 504, § 2; P.L. 2014, ch. 536, § 2.)