TITLE 39
Public Utilities and Carriers

CHAPTER 39-18.1
Transportation Investment and Debt Reduction Act of 2011

SECTION 39-18.1-4


§ 39-18.1-4 Rhode Island highway maintenance account created.

(a) There is hereby created a special account in the intermodal surface transportation fund as established in section 31-36-20 that is to be known as the Rhode Island highway maintenance account.

(b) The fund shall consist of all those moneys which the state may from time to time direct to the fund, including, not necessarily limited to, moneys derived from the following sources:

(1) There is imposed a surcharge of thirty dollars ($30.00) per vehicle or truck, other than those with specific registrations set forth below in subsection (b)(1)(i). Such surcharge shall be paid by each vehicle or truck owner in order to register that owner's vehicle or truck and upon each subsequent biennial registration. This surcharge shall be phased in at the rate of ten dollars ($10.00) each year. The total surcharge will be ten dollars ($10.00) from July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014, twenty dollars ($20.00) from July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015, and thirty dollars ($30.00) from July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016 and each year thereafter.

(i) For owners of vehicles or trucks with the following plate types, the surcharge shall be as set forth below and shall be paid in full in order to register the vehicle or truck and upon each subsequent renewal:

Plate Type Surcharge

Antique $5.00

Farm $10.00

Motorcycle $13.00

(ii) For owners of trailers, the surcharge shall be one-half (1/2) of the biennial registration amount and shall be paid in full in order to register the trailer and upon each subsequent renewal.

(2) There is imposed a surcharge of fifteen dollars ($15.00) per vehicle or truck, other than those with specific registrations set forth in subsection (b)(2)(i) below, for those vehicles or trucks subject to annual registration, to be paid annually by each vehicle or truck owner in order to register that owner's vehicle, trailer or truck and upon each subsequent annual registration. This surcharge will be phased in at the rate of five dollars ($5.00) each year. The total surcharge will be five dollars ($5.00) from July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014, ten dollars ($10.00) from July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015, and fifteen dollars ($15.00) from July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016 and each year thereafter.

(i) For registrations of the following plate types, the surcharge shall be as set forth below and shall be paid in full in order to register the plate, and upon each subsequent renewal:

Plate Type Surcharge

Boat Dealer $6.25

Cycle Dealer $6.25

In-transit $5.00

Manufacturer $5.00

New Car Dealer $5.00

Used Car Dealer $5.00

Racer Tow $5.00

Transporter $5.00

Bailee $5.00

(ii) For owners of trailers, the surcharge shall be one-half (1/2) of the annual registration amount and shall be paid in full in order to register the trailer and upon each subsequent renewal.

(iii) For owners of school buses, the surcharge will be phased in at the rate of six dollars and twenty-five cents ($6.25) each year. The total surcharge will be six dollars and twenty-five cents ($6.25) from July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014 and twelve dollars and fifty cents ($12.50) from July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015 and each year thereafter.

(3) There is imposed a surcharge of thirty dollars ($30.00) per license to operate a motor vehicle to be paid every five (5) years by each licensed operator of a motor vehicle. This surcharge will be phased in at the rate of ten dollars ($10.00) each year. The total surcharge will be ten dollars ($10.00) from July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014, twenty dollars ($20.00) from July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015, and thirty dollars ($30.00) from July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016 and each year thereafter. In the event that a license is issued or renewed for a period of less than five (5) years, the surcharge will be prorated according to the period of time the license will be valid.

(c) All funds collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited in the Rhode Island highway maintenance account and shall be used only for the purposes set forth in this chapter.

(d) Unexpended balances and any earnings thereon shall not revert to the general fund but shall remain in the Rhode Island highway maintenance account. There shall be no requirement that monies received into the Rhode Island highway maintenance account during any given calendar year or fiscal year be expended during the same calendar year or fiscal year.

(e) The Rhode Island highway maintenance account shall be administered by the director, who shall allocate and spend monies from the fund only in accordance with the purposes and procedures set forth in this chapter.

(4) All fees assessed pursuant to § 31-47.1-11, and chapters 3, 6, 10, and 10.1 of title 31 shall be deposited into the Rhode Island highway maintenance account, provided that for fiscal years 2016, 2017 and 2018 these fees be transferred as follows:

(i) From July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016, twenty-five percent (25%) will be deposited;

(ii) From July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017, seventy-five percent (75%) will be deposited; and

(iii) From July 1, 2017 and each year thereafter, one hundred percent (100%) will be deposited;

(5) All remaining funds from previous general obligation bond issues that have not otherwise been allocated.

History of Section.
(P.L. 2011, ch. 151, art. 22, § 1; P.L. 2013, ch. 144, art. 6, § 2; P.L. 2014, ch. 145, art. 21, § 7.)