§ 5-73-3. Registration and licensing of roofing contractors.
(a) All roofing contractors, in addition to the requirements of chapter 65 of this title entitled "Contractor's Registration and Licensing Board", if applicable, prior to conducting roofing business in the state of Rhode Island, shall first submit an application to and be licensed by the contractor registration and licensing board on the form or forms that the board requires. The application shall include the following information:
(1) The name of the applicant;
(2) The business address of the applicant;
(3) The mailing address of the applicant;
(4) The telephone number of the applicant;
(5) The name of the party or officer who shall be responsible for all roofing activities conducted in the state of Rhode Island;
(6) Any registration number and/or other license numbers issued by the state, or any city or town; and
(7) A statement of the skills, training and experience of the applicant sufficient to ensure public safety, health and welfare.
(b) Licensing requirements shall not apply to roofing contractors applying shingles only.
(c) To be eligible for licensure as a roofing contractor an applicant shall also fulfill the following requirements:
(1) Be of good moral character;
(2) Pass an examination approved or administered by the contractors' registration board or has previously been registered as a commercial roofer in good standing and has met all the requirements of the rules and regulations established by the board;
(3) Be in good standing with the contractors' registration and licensing board;
(4) All field personnel of the roofing contractor must have a current certificate of completion of the ten (10) hours OSHA safety course or equivalent thereof as determined by the contractors' registration and licensing board;
(5) Take ten (10) hours continuing roofing education per year as set forth and recognized by the contractors' registration board;
(6) Be bonded in the aggregate amount of the total dollar value of any contract entered into to perform roofing work; single project in the amount of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) minimum; and
(7) Provide the board with an insurance certificate in the amount of one million five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000) per occurrence pursuant to the established rules and regulations, with the board as the holder, from the date of issuance, continuously.
(d)(1) The contractors' registration and licensing board is authorized to adopt rules and regulations pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, chapter 35 of title 42, necessary to effectuate the purposes of this chapter.
(2) Rules and regulations shall provide a fine schedule, which will establish grounds for discipline for licensee holders or non-licensed contractors.
(3) Fines shall be structured not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) per day per offense for conduct injurious to the welfare of the public as well as those required pursuant to § 5-65-10.
(e) Any person applying for a license or registration and making any material misstatement as to his or her experience or other qualifications, or any person, firm, or corporation subscribing to or vouching for any misstatement shall be subject to the discipline and penalties provided in § 5-65-10.
(f) No corporation, firm, association, or partnership shall engage in the business of commercial roofing or represent itself as a commercial roofing contractor unless a licensed commercial roofer as provided in this chapter is continuously engaged in the supervision of its commercial roofing work, provided that the commercial roofer is a general partner or an officer and shareholder in the firm or corporation. If the license holder dies or otherwise becomes incapacitated, the corporation, firm, or association shall be allowed to continue to operate until the next examination shall be given or such times as the board shall see fit. In no event, shall the corporation, firm, association, or partnership continue to operate longer than twelve (12) months or in accordance with the board's established rules and regulations without satisfying the license requirements of this chapter. Those roofers who have been registered with the board on July 1, 2003, and remain in good standing, shall be exempt from the testing requirements set forth in this chapter.
(g) Complaints filed with the board shall be heard only in regard to those issues so established in the rules and regulations.
(P.L. 1998, ch. 243, § 1; P.L. 2000, ch. 445, § 1; P.L. 2001, ch. 257, § 2; P.L. 2001, ch. 327, § 2; P.L. 2003, ch. 282, § 3; P.L. 2007, ch. 228, § 4.)