Courts and Civil Procedure – Courts

Commission on Judicial Tenure and Discipline

SECTION 8-16-2

§ 8-16-2. Terms of the commissioners.

Except as otherwise provided, the members of the commission shall serve for terms of three (3) years; provided, however, that the initial appointments shall be so staggered that one of each class of members so appointed shall serve for a term of one year, one for two (2) years, and one for three (3) years. The appointment by the supreme court of the member of the judiciary at large shall be for a term of three (3) years. No member shall be eligible for reappointment to another term if he or she has served more than six (6) consecutive years. Vacancies other than those arising through the expiration of a term shall be filled for the unexpired portion of the term in the same manner as vacancies due to the expiration of the term.

History of Section.
(P.L. 1974, ch. 136, § 1; P.L. 2011, ch. 62, § 1; P.L. 2011, ch. 94, § 1.)